Daily Archives: August 16, 2012

lost in the shuffle: vegetarian (and vegan!) summer rolls with watercress, carrot, tofu, cucumber, and fresno chili with an almond butter hoisin dipping sauce

Somewhere in the scuffle that has been a very busy Summer, my one-year Colorado anniversary totally eluded me.

Not that it’s a big deal, really – more so that I caught myself earlier this week telling a new friend that I “just” moved to Colorado, when in all reality a full three-hundred-and-sixty-five-days does not exactly warrant the word ‘just.’

Granted I have been known to invent causes for celebration (proclamations of “It’s the five year anniversary of our first date!!” and “Exactly four-and-a-half-years ago we moved into our first apartment together!!” have most definitely traversed my lips in hopes of getting a celebratory dinner or glass of bubbly), but somehow this sorta-kinda milestone just got shuffled in between weddings, work, weekends with house guests, and one very busy late-Summer.

The craziest thing is actually not realizing that I’ve been in Boulder for a full twelve months, but that I haven’t been back to New York City yet – not once. It’s not at all been intentional; though I felt like I was always on running at a frenetic pace when living in that city that really never does sleep, in this past year I feel like the number of weekends that we have had totally free and uncommitted have been few and far between, and always sandwiched in between commitments that made scheduling them seem unbearable.

All of those bustling (but seriously fun) weekends compounded by busy work schedules has literally caused these past few months to pass by in a blur, and though I’d venture to guess that most of you feel like time is constantly flying by, for me, this year spent out in Colorado more so than any other has felt that it’s gone by in the literal blink of an eye.

I can’t wait to get a visit back to New York on the books, and with things loosening up a bit around here in September and October I’m looking forward to doing exactly that. I’m heading to San Francisco tomorrow, and though it couldn’t be geographically any farther from New York, I am really looking forward to a weekend dose of good old city life. I’m excited for the people, the neighborhoods, the food, and the general weirdness that comes with being in a place that crams so many people into so little space.

{but wait! there’s more…}