Daily Archives: March 7, 2012

for a chillier day: slow roasted lamb shoulder with potatoes & parsnips

I’ve told you all just how wacky the weather here in Boulder can be before, but I am seriously just completely amazed at how variable it really is.  I am sitting here now beside the fire with slightly sunburned shoulders and very angry hamstrings…..why? 

Because I hiked Mt. Sanitas with a friend yesterday – without a jacket and wearing a workout tank and cropped pants.  With no jacket.  In cropped pants.  Wearing a tank top!

Yes.  Yesterday my car announced to me that it was a positively balmy 68 degrees (and even eeked it’s way up to 72 as I drove home from the Pearl Street Whole Foods).  It was a glorious still-winter day: there were eager Tuesday happy hour patrons spilling out of open windowed cafes, there were runners and hikers giddily pounding all the trails, and there were hordes of bikers shrink-wrapped in spandex whizzing all about like neon hornets (ahh, Boulder).  For a moment in time it was like we all forgot it’s not yet even Spring; the clocks have not even yet sprung forward, and it hit me upon my arrival home at 6 o’clock that it was still light out.

We passed dozens of hikers on our ascent up the steep (steep….steep…) trails, sunglasses were all but imperative to help shield my eyes from the bright and hot rays, and the pug shared my enthusiasm for a good number of iced-down Camelback breaks – I dare say the first time in months she has admitted that she too was tired.

(I should note Winnie’s favorite pastime, aside from hiking itself, is making you feel like a chump while she runs circles around your huffing-puffing-aching ankles.  The nerve!)

And so, my whole point being, that while yesterday was amazing, and got me thinking about open toes, picnics, and dining al fresco (swoon!), today our high is a measly thirty-six (!) degrees (!!), and they are calling for snowfall to start this afternoon (!!!).  The tops of the mountains are covered with a cold fog, and our deck was iced over as we shoved a totally unenthusiastic pug slip-sliding out to do her business at 6:15am.

{but wait! there’s more…}